Guido Dogs

I’m still alive. I’ve just been too stupidly busy to cook anything historical worth posting about, but I did indulge recently in a nostalgic moment from my own personal history. Back in high school, I had a good friend who inexplicably went by the nickname Guido. And after a long, hard day of D&D or tabletop wargamming, we’d sit back, watch some Monty Python, and eat what he called “Guido dogs.”

Vegan Guido Dogs

Guido dogs were, as far as I can recall, a mixture of sliced hot dogs, beans, pico de gallo, and mayonnaise, spooned into toasted hot dog buns. I’ve replicated the admittedly disgusting sounding but surprisingly palatable concoction with LightLife Smart Dogs and Nasoya Nayonaise. It looks and sounds foul, I know, but it’s really quite good. Perfect with a large helping of Flying Circus and whatever cheap booze your friend Guido can lift from the liquor store. I kinda miss high school sometimes.

7 Responses to “Guido Dogs”

  1. Ew, nayonaise! We used to always use that, but when the kids tasted vegenaise they told me I was never allowed to buy nayonaise ever again. Ever.

  2. Also, what kind of beans?

  3. hoveringdog Says:

    We don’t all have the luxury of multiple vegan mayo choices.

    I used black beans in this because that’s what I had on hand, but I seem to remember that we used chili beans, I think, in the original.

  4. That does sound pretty gross, but I would totally try it; it sounds like perfect hangover food!

  5. But… I don’t have a friend Guido. Damn.

  6. It looks great to me! I would try it for sure! I make a mean loaded “not dog” on rye bread. Kinda reminds me of that a bit.

Leave a Reply

